PR: Τhe appointment of the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of Thessaloniki Water Supply and Sewerage Company S.A.

PR: Τhe appointment of the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of Thessaloniki Water Supply and Sewerage Company S.A.

The Hellenic Corporation of Assets and Participations S.A. (“HCAP”) announces the appointment of the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of Thessaloniki Water Supply a nd Sewerage Company S.A. (“EYATH”).

The Board of Directors of HCAP S.A., majority shareholder of EYATH, acting within its responsibilities according to the procedure established under article 197 para. 4 Law 4389/2016, unanimously decided the appointment of Mr. Agis Papadopoulos as Chairman, Non-Executive Member of the Board of Directors of EYATH.

EYATH, like its predecessors until 1998, Thessaloniki Water Supply Organisation S.A. and Thessaloniki Sewerage Organisation S.A., has implemented an important task, meeting the needs of a city which saw its population grow significantly. To make this possible, major water projects, including the most recent ones such as the Aravissos aqueduct, the Aliakmonas raw water sources and water treatment center, had to be implemented.

Today EYATH, the largest water and sewerage company in Northern Greece, is called upon to undertake new projects to improve networks and upgrade its water and wastewater treatment services, as well as expanding its activities. To this end, it implements an important investment program, aiming at reducing water network losses and establishing a new concept for the Company, as a sustainable water resources management entity in the Thessaloniki area as well as protecting the fragile Thermaikos Gulf ecosystem.

The promotion of digital transformation will contribute to this direction, especially through the installation of smart meters and automation systems, while it is essential to move towards the continuous improvement of corporate governance and the development of its valuable and experienced human resources.

It is crucial for the Company to enhance the efforts to improve consumer services, but also to raise awareness of the local community for sustainable management of natural resources and to safeguard Thessaloniki’s complex infrastructure against increasingly extreme physical phenomena.

The Company’s long-standing know-how and experience, its strong corporate footprint, its experienced staff recently enhanced and its sound capital structure are the key for achieving its strategic goals as a modern utility company responding positively to the multiple challenges of our times.

The HCAP BoD, wishes to the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of EYATH every success in his duties.

See th e Appendix A’ with the short CV of the new Chairman



Short CV of the of the new Chairman of the Board of Directors of Thessaloniki Water Supply and Sewerage Company S.A. (“EYATH”):

Agis Papadopoulos, Chairman of the Board of Directors, Non-Executive Member

Mr. Agis Papadopoulos graduated from the German School of Thessaloniki. He obtained his Diploma in Mechanical Engineering from the Aristotle University Thessaloniki in 1989, his Master of Science in Energy Conservation and the Environment from Cranfield University (UK) in 1991, and his Doctorate in solar systems, from the Aristotle University Thessaloniki in 1994.

Since 1998 he is Professor of energy systems at the Department of Mechanical Engineering of the Aristotle University Thessaloniki (1998 Assistant Professor, 2004 Associate Professor, 2010 Professor). Since 2013 he is Director of the Process Equipment Design Laboratory at the same Department. His main research interests lie in the fields of (a) Energy efficiency and Renewable Energy Sources, (b) Εnergy and environmental design of buildings and (c) Εnergy economics. He has directed more than 65 research national and European research programs and he has published, alone or with colleagues, more than 115 papers in scientific journals. He is Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Sustainable Energy.

He has been a board member of the Hellenic Regulatory Authority for Energy (2003-2005) and a Vice- Chairman of the Governing Board of the Open University of Cyprus (2014-2018). Since 2015 he is Visiting Professor at the Technical University of Hamburg (TU Hamburg-Harburg) in Germany.